New Beginnings

After months of writing about it, praying about it, crying and worrying about it – I finally have found a new job.

The insight I gained from the past 2-3 weeks has been astounding. I’ve always wanted to change industry. I never saw myself in the finance industry to begin with so for me, this was always something that did not speak to my heart. However, I’ve been on two different interviews with different companies of other industries within the past two weeks and what I’ve learned is that not everything is as it seems. Maybe there’s a reason I need to stay in the finance world right now. Of course, everything changes in due time but for where I am right now in my life, it’s quite possible that this might be a better move for me.

Two weeks ago, as I walked into the company I’ve always fantasized about and looked around, it all seemed so amazing. I pictured myself running around, knowing people, being constantly busy with various tasks for my boss. But what I felt when walking out, was something different. I felt within me that would be the last time I stepped foot into the company and that not everything is as it seems. On the outside, these media companies (some of them, not all) seem to be so awesome and “cool”. But what’s really happening on the inside? Do they have a great culture? Do people mesh well with one another? What are their benefits like? Is there a great work-life balance?

I’ve learned that you don’t need to be in any type of industry to necessarily make your dreams a reality. Sometimes yes, but other times, no. For example: I’ve had the feeling I wanted to be a writer for a few years now. To be a writer, do I necessarily have to be in Media/Communications/Publishing? No. You can just be a writer. You don’t need to be in any type of industry to achieve your dreams….you just are that which you want. You become it.

Sometimes we don’t get exactly what we want, but instead what we need. And that might be what this whole lesson has been about. Having faith that at the end of the day, it’ll all work out the way it’s meant.

I know how cliché that must sound. But my faith has certainly been tested. Faith in not only the Universe and/or God, but faith in myself – taking a risk and taking a chance on living a life differently than what those around me believe I should be living.

I’ve spent so much of the past two and a half years listening to other people, but this time around, I chose to listen to my own voice. And that’s something that can’t be taken away from me. That sense of joy and pride from knowing that I listened to myself and followed my own path. If I would have chosen something else, it would have felt like I betrayed myself, and I can’t do that. Not now, not ever.

So I would like to write out the advice I have heard from many people, and the advice I gave to myself when I felt unheard, and consolidate it:

Listen to your own voice. What is it that you want out of your life? How do you feel about making a change or doing something different? Speak life into your own life and will it to happen! Don’t be afraid to live the only way you know how. The Universe is abundant and awaits your invitation for assistance. Experience everything but don’t get stuck in any of it. Everything will be okay. Just know that no matter what, you know how to take care of yourself. You will be just fine. Life is meant to be in constant flux. The highs, the lows, the peaks and valleys, are all part of the grand scheme. Relax and enjoy the journey moment by moment.

You are well taken care of.

Leave a Reply

